MINUTES

OF THE

JUNE 29, 2018 SPECIAL BUSINESS/APPEALS MEETING



OF THE

OKLAHOMA WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION

STATEMENT OF OKLAHOMA OPEN MEETING LAW COMPLIANCE

Notice of this Regular Meeting was filed with the Secretary of State's office on June 21, 2018 at 4:27 p.m., in compliance with the Open Meeting Act.

The Agenda was posted at least 24 hours in advance of the meeting, in compliance with the Open Meeting Act. It was posted on the Commission website and at 1915 N. Stiles Ave., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, the Commission's principal office.

MINUTES OF THE JUNE 29, 2018 SPECIAL MEETING OF THE OKLAHOMA WORKERS' COMPENSATION COMMISSION

The members of the Oklahoma Workers' Compensation Commission met at 1915 N. Stiles Ave., 2nd Floor, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, on June 29, 2018.

Members present: Chairman Mark Liotta, Commissioner Jordan Russell, and Commissioner Megan Tilly.

Others Present: Hopper Smith, WCC; Sarah Greenwalt, WCC; Lindsey Christopher, WCC; Dana Esparza, WCC; Collin Fowler, WCC; and Eric Russell, WCC.

Chairman Liotta expressed appreciation for those in attendance. After the roll was taken, he announced the presence of a quorum. The meeting was called to order at 1:30 p.m.

A. Approval of Minutes

Chairman Liotta presented the minutes of the June 14, 2018 and June 15, 2018 public meetings for approval.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to approve the minutes of the June 14, 2018 and June 15, 2018 public meetings.

Second: Commissioner Russell.

Those voting aye: Chairman Liotta, Commissioner Russell, Commissioner Tilly.

The motion carried.

B. Annual Report

1. Discussion and Consideration to Approve Proposed Annual Report

Per 85A O.S., § 25, the Commission shall submit to the Governor and the Legislature a report of the administration of the Administrative Workers' Compensation Act for the preceding annual period, together with such recommendations as the Commission may deem advisable. The Commission will consider approving the proposed annual report for submission to the Governor and the Legislature.

<u>Motion:</u> Commissioner Tilly moved to approve the Annual Report with amendments.

Second: Commissioner Russell.

Those voting aye: Chairman Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Commissioner Tilly.

The motion carried.

C. <u>Commission Consideration of Adoption of Final Order in the</u> Following Cases:

1. Ronnie Pressler v. Lowes Home Centers LLC (OWN RISK #18931) File #CM2016-06814H

Claimant filed an appeal from the order issued by Administrative Law Judge Inhofe. Eric W. Quandt represented the Claimant and Jordan Ensley represented the Respondent.

This case came on for Oral Argument on May 18, 2018. After reviewing the record, hearing oral argument of counsel, and deliberating, the Commission took the case under advisement. A proposed order has been distributed to the Commissioners for consideration of adoption.

Motion: Commissioner Russell moved approve the proposed order as drafted.

Second: Commissioner Tilly.

Those voting aye: Chairman Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Commissioner Tilly.

The motion carried.

2. Cynthia Harwell v. City of Del City (Own Risk #11388) File #CM2015-01284J

Claimant filed an appeal from the order issued by Administrative Law Judge Egan. Jeffrey M. Cooper represented the Claimant. Heather A. Lehman Fagan represented the Respondent.

This case came on for Oral Argument on June 15, 2018. After reviewing the record, hearing oral argument of counsel, and deliberating, the Commission took preliminary action to reverse and remand the Administrative Law Judges Order. A proposed order has been distributed to the Commissioners for consideration of adoption.

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to continue this agenda item to a future meeting.

Second: Commissioner Russell.

Those voting aye: Chairman Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Commissioner Tilly.

The motion carried.

3. Announcements

The Commission's next regularly scheduled appeals meeting is on July 20, 2018. The Commission's next regularly scheduled business meeting is on July 19, 2018.

ADJOURNMENT......Chairman Liotta

Motion: Commissioner Tilly moved to adjourn.

Second: Commissioner Russell.

Those voting aye: Chairman Liotta, Commissioner Russell, and Commissioner Tilly.

The motion carried. The meeting adjourned.